back to Birthstone

Gemstones and Their Meanings

by Chante Walker
Last updated on October 13, 2023

There are many types of gemstones and their meanings are as vast. Nonetheless, rooted in spirituality, different stones have different kinds of healing properties worth exploring. In other facets, gemstones also correlate to our zodiacs or birth month.

Precious versus Semi-Precious Gemstone

Clean Origin Bluebell Diamond Ring

There are four precious stones, and the others are considered semi-precious stones. Because of this, the four precious stones are diamond, emerald, ruby, and sapphire. Some semi-precious gemstones are topaz, tourmaline, quartz, moonstone, and jade.

Spiritual Meaning of Gemstones

The spiritual meaning of gemstones refers to the benefits they bring to your physical and emotional well-being. One healing stone offers its own list of healing properties, but some advantages overlap.

Healing crystals have properties that regulate positive and negative energy. All things considered, common qualities of a healing stone include mental clarity, protection, balance, and stress relief.

The Seven Chakras and Crystal Healing

7 Major Chakra's Chart
7 Major Chakra’s Chart

Chakra in the Sanskrit language means “wheel” or “disk” referring to the body’s energy system. That is, each wheel of energy is associated with a major organ or nerve bundle in the body.

While there is a multitude of chakras, commonly known belief speaks of 7 along the spine. The 7 major chakras are the Crown, Third Eye, Throat, Heart, Solar Plexus, Sacral, and Root.

Chakra stones are gemstones or crystals that have the ability to activate or also enhance the energy emitted by a chakra. It can also act as a balancing stone. Moreover, the healing crystal you choose depends on the chakra you want to bring focus to.

#1 – Root chakra: Grounding and Resilience

Muladhara, the root chakra, is located at the base of your spine and provides you with stability and the ability to persist through challenging situations.

Root Chakra Stones: Bloodstone, Tiger’s Eye, Hematite, Agate, and Black Tourmaline.

#2 – Sacral chakra: Sexuality and Creativity

The sacral chakra is responsible for your sexuality, creativity, and your emotional capacity with others. Also called Svadisthana, this chakra is located just below the belly button.

Sacral Chakra Stones: Carnelian Agate, Orange Calcite, Tiger’s Eye, Citrine, Moonstone, and Coral.

#3 – Solar plexus chakra: Confidence and Self-esteem

The solar plexus chakra, a.k.a. Manipura, is located in your stomach. This chakra aids in taking control of your life and building confidence and self-esteem.

Solar plexus Chakra Stones: Citrine, Topaz, Yellow Calcite, Malachite, and Topaz.

#4 – Heart chakra: Love and Compassion

Anahata, the heart chakra, is located in the center of your chest near the heart. In short, this chakra represents our capacity to love and be compassionate.

Heart Chakra Stones: Rose Quartz, Kunzite, Watermelon Tourmaline, Jade, and Green Calcite.

#5 – Throat chakra: Verbal Communication

The throat chakra, or Vishuddi, represents your capacity to verbally communicate. After all, this chakra is located in your throat.

Throat Chakra Stones: Aquamarine, Azurite, Lapis Lazuli, and Turquoise.

#6 – Third Eye chakra: Intuition

Anja, the 3rd eye chakra, is located between your eyes. Accordingly, it represents one’s intuition and imagination.

Third Eye Chakra Stones: Amethyst, Sodalite, Lapis Lazuli, Purple Fluorite, and Black Obsidian.

#7 – Crown chakra: Life Purpose

The crown chakra, also called Sahasrara, is located at the top of your head and represents your connections to yourself, the universe, and other people. Consequently, each of those components has much to do with determining your life purpose.

Crown Chakra Stones: Clear Quartz, Oregon Opal, Diamond, and Amethyst.

What is a Birthstone?

Clean Origin's Arc En Ciel Bracelet

We commonly use gems for aesthetic purposes. However, it’s still fun to see what stone your birth corresponds to. There are Western traditional stones and contemporary stone charts for each month of the year. Furthermore, there are similar charts that disseminate birthstones by zodiac affiliation.

Monthly Birthstones

January: Garnet

Garnet is typically red and commonly known as a passion, devotion, and balancing stone. In addition, other variations of garnet gemstones include purple garnet, Malaya garnet, and almandine garnet.

February: Amethyst

Amethyst is a purple stone known to encourage mental clarity and calmness. Furthermore, amethyst is a quartz derivative and earns a 7 on Moh’s hardness scale. Other variations include Ametrine, Cactus Quartz, and Veracruz Amethyst.

March: Aquamarine

Aquamarine is a pale translucent blue-green stone that brings fearlessness, courage, and anxiety relief.

April: Diamond

Diamond gemstones bring strength and energy, reminiscent of it being the hardest mineral on Moh’s hardness scale. Diamonds strengthen the qualities of other gems a person wears. Diamonds are more accessible compared to other gemstones as it is highly demanded in all types of jewelry. Lab grown diamonds are the same chemical composition as mined diamonds, and they don’t require the disruption of local ecosystems.

May: Emerald

Emerald is a rich green stone that represents love, loyalty, integrity, balance, and patience. Unsurprisingly, as a result, it is in vibrational alignment with the heart chakra.

June: Pearl

Wisdom and spiritual peace are typically associated with the June birthstone, Pearl. Pearl is considered the queen of gemstones because it is one of the oldest found in the world.

July: Ruby

Ruby is quite popular for both its name and look. The July birthstone is well-known as the king of gemstones.

August: Peridot

Peridot is believed to attract prosperity, and help alleviate depression, anger, and anxiety.

September: Sapphire

Sapphire represents intuition, inspiration, and peace. In ancient times, sapphires were once believed to predict the future.

October: Opal

The October birthstone, Opal, represents love and passion. Opals range from 5.5 to 6.5 on Moh’s hardness scale due to their high moisture content making them relatively soft.

November: Topaz

Topaz, the November birthstone, is believed to improve clarity and focus. Correspondingly, they are recommended to calm anger, fear, and general mood swings.

December: Zircon

Lastly, Zircon is the December birthstone. Similar to pearl, it aids one in gaining wisdom and growing spiritually.

Clean Origin’s Lab Grown Alternatives

Clean Origin Dahlia 3 Stone Promise Ring

Mining for resources is certainly harmful to the Earth. Conversely, lab created diamonds are an alternative to disturbing the Earth’s natural processes. Thus, find diamond gemstones with fancy colors in a lab grown form to avoid supporting the unethical diamond mining industry.

We offer an array of colored diamonds in different shapes that are sure to amaze you. Shop our fancy colors, here.